Skip to content

Maiara Musings

"Problems can not be solved by the level of awareness that created them" Albert Einstein

This is what I learned, one Sunday morning wandering through the beautiful art gallery.  The exhibition of painters Morrice and Lyman showcased alongside the paintings of Henri Matisse had just opened and the gallery was still quiet. There were quotations of the painters written on the wall but one quotation stopped me, leaving me no choice but to take out my notebook and carefully, word by word copy it down. At awe, I have read and reread the notation finding it profoundly wonderful. Here it is for everyone to read and enjoy. I can not stop wondering how something so simply said can be so universally true to everything we experience in life.

“There is nothing more difficult for a truly creative painter than to

paint rose. Because before he can do so

he has first to forget all the

roses that were painted”

  • Henri Matisse –

I do not know for sure if it was the lingering effects of the words of Matisse that helped me to come to my realization about the art, or was it a combination of everything happened to me in my life so far, but today for the first time I understood art. Walking alone through the art gallery – in silence – letting the paintings glide past my eyes. I was not trying to learn or understand, but to feel. I wanted the pictures, paintings, the sculptures tell the story, to draw me to them. I understood that I do not have to be skilled academic with all the technical information, I do not have to like everything I see. I do not have to understand the art to love it. I can open my heart for it. I do not have to judge it. I do not have to do anything. I can pass by the famous paintings of legendary artists without stopping just to find myself standing mesmerized in front of the small drawing by the unknown artist.

That is what I suddenly understood that one sunny Sunday morning. Going to the art gallery from now on will be quiet different experience for me, it will much more relaxing and enjoyable. I do hope that next time when you, my dear reader, go to the art gallery, or anywhere for that matter, you can do so with open mind. Perhaps you will find yourself wondering around without any predetermined mind-set being present in the moment and letting your heart guide the way. Who knows what treasures you will find.

Thank you for visiting Maiara Musings. I have to apologize for not posting in a very long time and thank you for my readers who regardless keep coming daily to read my essays. My life situation has been such that I simply has not had time for the writing. However, everything is in good way busy and I have finally gotten over my past. I am mapping my future now and it is really interesting but somewhat overwhelming at times. For those who have never visited Maiara Musings before, you might wish to read some of the essays. I have no theme really, but many are the essays relating to healing from abusive relationship.

 

